Breaking Up With PostADay


Dear PostADay,

I remember when I met you back in January.  I was an inexperienced and uncertain young blogger looking for a boost, and you seemed like just the one to help me out of my semi-regular posting funk.  Looking back from six months later, I can say without a doubt that you really were the one that I needed.  You helped me learn to write even when I didn’t feel like it, showed me what things I loved to write about and what things bored me to tears, and even helped me through the temptations of stats obsession and gave me confidence as a blogger.  I don’t regret a single moment that we spent together, but I also don’t regret that now, it’s time for me to say goodbye.

Believe me, it’s not your fault.  The last six months have been some of the happiest of my life, and I’m glad you were a part of them.  Sure, sometimes you added stress to those nights when I just couldn’t focus or I wasn’t satisfied with my work, but you also led me to try new things, to meet new friends, and even to learn the ins and outs of WordPress a little more thoroughly.  You gave me an opportunity to do something constructive with my free time instead of wasting it, but now that free time is growing less and less and I just can’t promise you the level of commitment that you demand.

It’s not that I don’t want to post every day, PostADay.  I’d love to post something funny or thoughtful or encouraging or challenging every day for the rest of my life, but the truth is that some days I can’t.  Some days the best that I can do is a lame excuse or a goofy picture, and you deserve better than that.  This blog deserves better than that.  My readers deserve better than that.  There’s no reason for me to add to all of the ludicrously unnecessary pointlessness on the Internet; in fact, that’s the opposite of my mission.  I want to write things that matter, things that are worth the time and effort that it takes to read them.  If that means that my posts are fewer and farther between, that you and I have to break up after coming so far, then I have no other choice.  It’s time to officially say goodbye for the last time, PostADay.  Thanks for the memories.  Maybe I’ll see you again someday.

Sincerely,

Tim N.

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

