Song of the Week: “Dark Horses” by Switchfoot


Switchfoot is back.  After a lot of postponing and uncertainty on the release date of their new album, Vice Verses, they’re finally set to bring us twelve tracks of new and awesome music on September 27th.  While that’s a bit too far away for my liking (tomorrow would be nice), they haven’t left us with nothing but a date.  You can swing by their website (or watch the embedded video below) to hear their brand-new and absolutely superlative single, “Dark Horses”.  It’s got a harder sound than your typical Switchfoot tune, but Foreman and company play it with passion and power and the song comes out bold, triumphant, and unforgettable.  If this is a taste of things to come, I’ll be eagerly waiting at midnight on the 27th to hand over my money.  As always, these guys deserve it.  Video and lyrics after the jump.

I’ve made my mistakes
I’ve seen my heart cave in
I’ve got my scars
I’ve been to hell and back again

Born for the blue skies
We’ll survive the rain
Born for the sunrise
We’ll survive the pain

– Chorus –
We’re singing…
Hey, You can’t count us out
We’ve been living up against the crowd
Yeah, we are the Dark Horses
We’re singing…
Hey! It’s not over now
We’ve been down but we’ve never been out
Yeah, we are the Dark Horses

We found a way out
The city takes everything it can
But outside the crowds
I can feel my lungs again

We’re singing…

We don’t care what they say
We know we’ll find a way
Yeah!… We are the Dark Horses

Laa la-la-la-la-laa
Laa la-la-la-la-laa

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

