Goodbye, Culby 12


“Mandatory floor meeting” is a phrase that doesn’t often bring to mind fond memories of good times and cherished moments, so I wasn’t really expecting much more than a laundry list of checkout procedures from R.A. Jake when I sat down in the lounge for the floor meeting tonight.  After he finished reading off all of the pertinent paperwork information, however, Jake did something that I didn’t expect.  He asked everyone who wasn’t coming back to school the next semester to raise their hands.  Our resident senior, Andrew, raised his, as did our soon-to-be-married man Phil, and I followed suit.  Jake handed us each a gift (I got a stuffed dog, a cap gun, and a Hot Wheels ’73 Falcon – yeah, these guys know me pretty well), then had us stand up on the coffee table, fondly referred to as “the altar” so that some of the other men of the floor could pray over each of us.  My amazing roommate Dan prayed for me, and as I stood there with the others on the altar, surrounded by the loving arms of my brothers and listening to Dan lift me up before the Lord, it began to sink in for me how much I’m going to miss this place, these people, when I leave.  I’ve only been here for a year and the men of Culby 12 already feel like another family to me, and even though I’ll be glad to return to my brothers and sisters and parents and friends at home, it’s still going to hurt to say goodbye to Moody and to Culby 12.  This year has been one of the most difficult, interesting, inspiring, eye-opening, exciting, wonderful years of my life, and I owe so much of that to these guys, my floormates and my friends.  Thanks for opening your lives to this freshman and making my first year at school such an amazing experience, Culby 12.  I’ll miss you, and I hope I can come back soon.

1 Comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

One response to “Goodbye, Culby 12

  1. mom

    this is so sad!!! I’m so glad that they took that time to pray with you. I wish there was a way for you to go back in the fall, but I know that it’s all in God’s hands and in His time. So thankful you had such an amazing freshman year and so looking forward to seeing you next week!!! Love you lots.

Leave a Reply

