Oh, For the Beauty…


Creation is incredible, isn’t it?  Living in a city like Chicago, I don’t get to see as much of nature as I’d like, but thanks to technologies like photography and the Internet I can at least have  a taste of the beauty of wide-open spaces, soaring mountains, and exquisite flora and fauna without leaving my dorm.  For today’s post, I’m going to link you to two of the most incredible collections of nature shots I’ve ever seen, and I encourage you to take a little time to look at them and let the boundless wonder of the world around us sink in.  God has created an artistic masterpiece of form and function and given it to us as our home, and it helps sometimes to sit back and marvel at what an indescribably gorgeous job He did and at His incomprehensible power that is evidenced all throughout it.

First, a gallery of clouds and sunsets that evidence perfectly the Psalmist’s words: “The heavens declare the glory of God, the skies proclaim the works of His hands.”  (Psalm 19:1)  Here are a couple of samples:

Then, a collection of aerial shots detailing the earth from above, like these:

2 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

2 responses to “Oh, For the Beauty…

  1. …that fourth picture reminds me of the rocky steppes I used to climb with my family in Ontario, Canada.

    Though those days and memories were simple, they remain some of the best memories I have. How I miss the opportunity to relive them, and how I anticipate finding a new place to build similar memories anew.

    Pictures like these astound me every time. Thank you for showcasing them, wise sir.

    • Thank you for a wonderful comment, Tek. As a writer and story enthusiast, I love to hear these sorts of vignettes, snapshots of people’s simplest and best memories, and what it is that reminds them of those times years later. Ah, creation is truly marvelous, and while I wish I could visit all those places for myself, just seeing pictures of them is enough to take my breath away. I’m glad you found them inspiring, too, and I’ll definitely be looking to include more like them in future posts.

Leave a Reply

