Song of the Week: “Homesick” by Mercy Me


This song suddenly and firmly lodged itself in my head this afternoon for no apparent reason, or so I thought.  As I thought more about why it just wouldn’t stop running through my mind, though, I realized that the chorus is exactly what I’ve been feeling for the past week or so, only put much more eloquently and set to beautiful music.  While the song centers around the loss of a loved one, the concept of home is also a key theme, and one that has been heavy on my mind lately.  After a year here at school, this place has become a home to me.  I love my friends here, I savor the challenge of the classwork and I enjoy the atmosphere of dorm life, but school is also a very tiring place.  The semester rockets forward with relentless force, and sometimes I wonder if I’ll be able to keep up.  It’s at times like that that I feel a longing for my first home, my family and my house and my pets and my bedroom, the people and places and things that raised me, that made me who I am and that will always be a part of me.  When school ends, though, there’s no guarantee of if and when I’ll be able to go back, and I know that I’ll miss school then as much as I miss home now.  To me, it’s just another reminder that until we reach our true home, the one to which “Homesick” refers, we will never feel truly at rest.  The more people we grow to love and the more places we grow to cherish the more restless we will feel when we can’t be with them.  We were made for eternity, for perfection, and this world will always let us down, but that’s because there’s something better waiting.  One day we’ll never be homesick again, and until that day the hope of heaven is enough to keep me going here on earth.  Another wonderful song on this topic is “Temporary Home” by Carrie Underwood, which featured as the song of the week a few months ago.  I encourage you to listen to both of them in a row, the effect is profoundly moving.

“Homesick” by Mercy Me

You’re in a better place, I’ve heard a thousand times
And at least a thousand times I’ve rejoiced for you
But the reason why I’m broken, the reason why I cry
Is how long must I wait to be with you

I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
I’ve never been more homesick than now

Help me Lord cause I don’t understand your ways
The reason why I wonder if I’ll ever know
But, even if you showed me, the hurt would be the same
Cause I’m still here so far away from home

I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
I’ve never been more homesick than now

In Christ, there are no goodbyes
And in Christ, there is no end
So I’ll hold onto Jesus with all that I have
To see you again
To see you again

And I close my eyes and I see your face
If home’s where my heart is then I’m out of place
Lord, won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
Won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
Won’t you give me strength to make it through somehow
I’ve never been more homesick than now

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

