Feedback


It’s been a long time since I’ve posted a question of the day, and I’ve missed interacting with all of you guys, so today’s post is going to be all about questions.

First, a few fun questions to break the ice:

1. What’s your favorite joke?

2. If you could go anywhere in the world for a day for free, where would you go?

3. What is the surest way to cheer you up when you’re feeling down?

Now, a few things I’d love to hear your opinion about concerning the blog:

1. What’s your favorite post?  Why?

2. What’s your least favorite post?  Why?

3.  What’s a topic I’ve never written about that you’d like to see me cover?

4. Would you be interested in writing a guest post for me at any time this year?

5. Would you be interested in having me write a guest post for you (obviously this one only applies to fellow bloggers)?

6. Should I bring the weekly interview feature (Pathos) back?  And who would you like to see me interview?

7. Would you say you’re a regular reader, a casual browser, or barely ever around (and yes, I’d love to hear from all three categories)?

8. Go ahead and leave any other advice, criticisms, or jelly beans you’d like to give me, I’m always open to them (especially to jelly beans).

This is the part where you get to speak your piece, so go on!  Post your answers to whichever questions you’d like to answer in the comments below.  I’m looking forward to hearing what you think, so don’t be shy.  Fire away!

12 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

12 responses to “Feedback

  1. Benn Fales

    I read daily, but only cause I see it on Facebook. If I didn’t’ see it there I’m not sure how well I’d keep up…

    I don’t know how controversial you want to be, but I’m interested in how Christians do, (and should) respond to homosexuality. Specifically, how do we treat friends, acquaintances and fellow believers that are homosexual?

  2. Benn Fales

    So if you wanted to post about that that’d be cool in my opinion. I kinda left that out before and couldn’t find an edit button lol.

  3. 1. What’s your favorite joke?
    There were three tomatoes walking downtown. There was a mama, papa, and baby. As they were walking along, the baby tomato stopped and was peering in to a toy store window. The parents did not see him, and continued walking. Papa turned around, saw that the baby tomato was not with them and hurried back to where the baby was. When he got there he said, “Baby tomato! *SLAP* KETCHUP!” Hahahaha oh how I love that joke!

    2. If you could go anywhere in the world for a day for free, where would you go?
    Haiti or Japan

    3. What is the surest way to cheer you up when you’re feeling down?
    Hilariousity

    Now, a few things I’d love to hear your opinion about concerning the blog:

    1. What’s your favorite post? Why?
    I can’t remember what it was called, but I am pretty sure you wrote one on psasion that I really liked.

    2. What’s your least favorite post? Why?
    To be honest I don’t have a least favorite, but I don’t really read your MLP posts, just because I don’t watch the show! 🙂

    3. What’s a topic I’ve never written about that you’d like to see me cover?
    Gods love for the oppressed!

    4. Would you be interested in writing a guest post for me at any time this year?
    I would love to, but I fear it wouldn’t be nearly as awesome as yours.

    5. Would you be interested in having me write a guest post for you (obviously this one only applies to fellow bloggers)?
    Absolutely!

    6. Should I bring the weekly interview feature (Pathos) back? And who would you like to see me interview?
    I loved reading this, so YEAH! I think you should interview your dad.

    7. Would you say you’re a regular reader, a casual browser, or barely ever around (and yes, I’d love to hear from all three categories)?
    I am a regular reader! 🙂

    8. Go ahead and leave any other advice, criticisms, or jelly beans you’d like to give me, I’m always open to them (especially to jelly beans)
    I love jelly beans. Keep up these excellent posts, and I will keep reading them! Ps. BRING BACK YOUR JOURNAL ENTRY POSTS! 🙂

    • 1. Ahahaha, good choice for a joke. 😀
      2. Dude, great choice.

      1. What’s psasion? 😉 But seriously, I’m glad you liked it.
      2. Yes, I’ve been curious about how the MLP posts are going over with my friends and family. A lot (and I mean a LOT) of people find those posts through Google searches for the show, so they’re serving their purpose, but I had a feeling that my normal readers might not be terribly interested in them. As odd as it sounds, I’m considering starting a separate MLP blog so I can toss out my MLP related musings without interrupting the daily posts here… we’ll see.
      4. Adam, you are welcome to write a guest post any time. If you’ve got any ideas, let me know and I’ll have you writing a guest post in ten seconds flat!
      5. Also, if you ever want a guest post, just holler. I’d be honored to put something together for The Next Generation.
      6. Ooh, not a bad idea. I’ll have to look into that.
      8. By Journal Entry Posts do you mean the 10-part series I did last semester? I wrote those for a specific class, but I can definitely do more in that style if you’d like. Honestly, that might produce some more interesting posts than some of the ones I’ve been writing lately. 😉

  4. 1. What’s your favorite joke?

    A man walks into a bar. Ouch! Ha ha, ha ha! See? See? ‘Cause it’s, like, an iron bar, not a drinking bar…but I bet you were expecting a drinking bar, right? And – and…yeah, I’ll stop now.

    2. If you could go anywhere in the world for a day for free, where would you go?

    Ponyville, Equestria.

    …failing that, Vancouver, British Columbia – specifically, Studio B Productions. All-access pass, please.

    3. What is the surest way to cheer you up when you’re feeling down?

    The Ticketmaster, Applebuck Season, Dragonshy, Bridle Gossip, Winter Wrap Up, Suited For Success, Sonic Rainboom, Stare Master, A Dog and Pony Show, Over a Barrel.

    1. What’s your favorite post? Why?

    “Pinkie Pie Christians.” Absolutely terrific analogy – and surefire merchandising source!

    2. What’s your least favorite post? Why?

    Don’t have one, at the moment. This one, I guess? Just to antagonize ya. =3

    3. What’s a topic I’ve never written about that you’d like to see me cover?

    Regression analysis. The Chi-square goodness-of-fit test. Probability theory. Discrete mathematics. Operations research. Take yer pick. Math is fun~!

    4. Would you be interested in writing a guest post for me at any time this year?

    Nope! I’m way too Elisabeak…er, chicken for that.

    5. Would you be interested in having me write a guest post for you (obviously this one only applies to fellow bloggers)?

    Nope! I’ve no blog for which you could write.

    6. Should I bring the weekly interview feature (Pathos) back? And who would you like to see me interview?

    Sure, why not? I have no preference regarding subjects.

    7. Would you say you’re a regular reader, a casual browser, or barely ever around (and yes, I’d love to hear from all three categories)?

    By now, I check this daily. Reckon I fall into the first category.

    8. Go ahead and leave any other advice, criticisms, or jelly beans you’d like to give me, I’m always open to them (especially to jelly beans).

    I *really* dislike jelly beans. I’m, like, the only person in the world crazy enough to hold that opinion.

    Advice? Vocabulary, vocabulary, vocabulary! This isn’t a criticism or a jab at all, so much as it is a draw from personal experience – regularly expanding one’s vocabulary in the interest of employing more suitable words is key to writing extraordinarily. Always keep a thesaurus tab open. Such a tactic has continually proven exceptionally beneficial to me.

    • 1. Oh, now I get it! Here’s a joke in return: two hydrogen atoms are walking down a road. One turns to the other and says, “Good heavens, I’ve lost my electron!” “Really?” The other asks, “Are you sure?”… “Yes, I’m positive!” (Insert trombone sounds here).
      2. I hear Cloudsdale is nice this time of year, too.
      3. I just watched Bridle Gossip with a couple of my siblings tonight. One word: Flutterguy. Gets me every time…

      1. I’ve already got a surefire marketing plan:
      Step One: Write slogan
      Step Two: Create shirt
      Step Three: ???????
      Step Four: PROFIT
      But seriously, overused jokes aside, ever since you gave me the idea I’ve been dying to make that shirt. Maybe someday…
      2. Oh, I’m very antagonized. I’ve never been this antagonized before. Except for that one time when I was all, *gasp*, but I mean, really, who can top that?
      3. Sure, I’ll write a post about math. I’ve got some very interesting thoughts on the whole 1+1 issue… I think I may really have it figured out this time. 😉
      4. “Scootaloooo! Oh, Scootalooo!” But hey, if you ever decide you want to give it a shot I’ve got a Saturday somewhere with your name on it.
      8. Well, to each his own, I guess. More jellybeans for me!

      A thesaurus tab, you say? A superlative idea. You know what they say, the difference between the right word and almost the right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug (and I could always go for more lightning). Thanks for the advice, Tek.

      • I’ve actually run the aforementioned regression analysis on MLP:FiM. Maybe I *should* write a Saturday guest post on the intertwining of the two subjects…

        Tell you what – if I can decipher how to enable (and subsequently restrict) manipulation of data in an online Excel spreadsheet, I’ll get back to you on this. Seriously, it’s fun stuff for a math geek~!

  5. Adam B

    Heck yes, I’d love to write a blog post for you.

    I’m a semi-regular reader who tends to forget about the blog for a while and then read a few weeks worth at once.

    Definitely bring back pathos. I think the genius of the format was that you were interviewing fairly ordinary Christians. The passion of an “ordinary” believer can be just as interesting as the passion of a “leader of an organization type”.

    Usually the best way to cheer me up is to leave me alone to work through whatever issue I’m having. Also, the O.C. Supertones help.

    I would go to Rome if I could go somewhere for a day for free– but a day would definitely not be nearly enough.

    https://theauthorsapprentice.wordpress.com/2010/10/08/blue-jay/
    ^^
    favorite post with two of my favorite people. I also like how you didn’t mention me walking by and totally ruining the moment with my jocularity.

    Uh, I’m gonna ignore the rest of the questions.

    • Hey, just let me know whenever you have an idea for a guest post and I’d be happy to work you in. Also, if you’ve got any ideas for interviewees for Pathos I’m always open to suggestions.
      Your comment about your favorite post made me laugh. I almost forgot about your little interruption, so I guess it didn’t ruin the moment too badly. 😉
      Also, I’m slightly disappointed that you didn’t tell me your favorite joke…

  6. katie

    1. i dunno… i mean a lot of times it takes me too long to figure the good jokes out so i don’t remember them so well… =]

    2. cambodia

    3. smile. or talk about music!

    1. the meh generation [cause i like the topic] or Blue Jay [cause i have a little brother] or Connection [cause im gonna go to college in the fall] or https://theauthorsapprentice.files.wordpress.com/2011/03/audio-post-2011-03-26-04-41-06.mp3 [cause it makes me smile]

    2. hmm… i don’t think i have one.

    3. elect/predestination

    4. uh. sure. dunno what i’d write about, but alright [hehe get it? alright/ i’ll write… ok i’ll stop now]

    5. if i had a blog i would

    6. YES! i dunno who you’d interview but i really liked it

    7. regular reader when i’m home

    8. [jelly belly]

    oh i sent you a letter the other day. i hope you got it cause im not entirely convinced i addressed it right…

    • 1. Haha, it’s funny because it’s true.

      1. Oops, I forgot that audio post even existed. I’m not even sure why I called my blog and hung up, but at least it accomplished something worthwhile. 🙂
      3. Wow, you’re not pulling any punches with the topic request. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to try that one…
      4. Haha, I see what you did there.
      8. Yes! You are the first person to give me jelly beans, and you gave me the good kind. Mmm, thanks, Katie!

      And yes, I got your letter when I came back from spring break, but I can’t send my reply until I get some more stamps… I should have that little issue fixed pretty soon here, and then I can deal with this backlog of mail. Thanks for writing me, by the way, it made my day!

      • katie

        3 go for it. =] nah i get it tho. i have a lot of friends who attend reformation churches and i go in circles with them about it. get myself confused sometimes too…
        8 np! =]

        im glad it made your day! yea, your address was a little different than normal ones so i didn’t know if i did it right, then i realized you were touring the country and all… hehe

Leave a Reply

