Monday (Not Constantinople)


As far as first Mondays back at school go, this one was actually pretty great.  Because we just finished with spring tour, Men’s Choir rehearsal was cancelled, and then when I woke up this morning I discovered that my two hour class at noon was also cancelled.  The homework load is light so far, so I can ease into the madness instead of being plunged into it headfirst, but I do need to be careful not to squander any time because I’ve still got a lot to do.  I’ve got two articles to finish up and turn in to the paper for the next edition, which is great because that means $40 in my pocket, and I’m almost done working out the details to go home and visit my family for an extended weekend soon.  Add to that the thrill of seeing all of my friends come back from spring break and being able to hang out with them again and you have a Monday that’s several notches above average.  Perhaps the most fun part of this particular Monday, however, was going back to classes.  While that sounds strange on the surface, it makes more sense if you’ve ever met Dr. Brian Litfin.  He’s the professor who played Switchfoot for the entire class earlier in the semester, and today as we talked about the history of Christianity in the Byzantine empire, he started to explain why Constantinople is now called Istanbul – and wound up blaring “Istanbul (Not Constantinople)” by They Might Be Giants over the classroom speakers.  And to think I was expecting the first day back in class to be boring!  Now, back at my familiarly cluttered desk in my familiarly cluttered room with that lightheartedly goofy and chipper song stuck in my head, I finally feel ready to get back to school.  It’s easy to hate on Mondays because they signal the start of a long week, but I say we ought to give Monday an extra dose of love.  A good Monday can set the tone for a great week, so why not aim to make every Monday the best day of the week instead of assuming it’s going to be the worst?  After all, Mondays can be pretty cool if you give them a chance.

Also, here are the hilarious lyrics to “Istanbul (Not Constantinople)” in case you were curious:

Istanbul was Constantinople
Now it’s Istanbul, not Constantinople
Been a long time gone, Constantinople
Now it’s Turkish delight on a moonlit night

Every gal in Constantinople
Lives in Istanbul, not Constantinople
So if you’ve a date in Constantinople
She’ll be waiting in Istanbul

Even old New York was once New Amsterdam
Why they changed it I can’t say
People just liked it better that way

So take me back to Constantinople
No, you can’t go back to Constantinople
Been a long time gone, Constantinople
Why did Constantinople get the works?
That’s nobody’s business but the Turks

Istanbul (Istanbul)
Istanbul (Istanbul)

Even old New York was once New Amsterdam
Why they changed it I can’t say
People just liked it better that way

Istanbul was Constantinople
Now it’s Istanbul, not Constantinople
Been a long time gone, Constantinople
Why did Constantinople get the works?
That’s nobody’s business but the Turks

So take me back to Constantinople
No, you can’t go back to Constantinople
Been a long time gone, Constantinople
Why did Constantinople get the works?
That’s nobody’s business but the Turks

Istanbul

6 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

6 responses to “Monday (Not Constantinople)

  1. Tekaramity

    Please please please tell me you’ve seen the Tiny Toon Adventures take on that song.

    If not, enjoy.

    If so, uh…enjoy again! Yeah! It’s worth watching a zillionth time. ^_^;;

    • Well, technically now I can tell you that I’ve seen the Tiny Toon Adventures take on that song, but only because of your link. I love it… classic ‘toon ridiculousity (I don’t care what spell-check says, that’s a word). Also, I highly approve of the new avatar. Great shot of Dash!

      • I have done a good deed in sharing it, then! I could prattle on about TTA for weeks…but, ah, I’ll restrain myself for brevity’s sake. ^_^;;

        Super happy Rainbow Dash is my avatar everywhere else by now; I figured it was time to complete the ubiquity. Arnaud Gray Vasquez has served me well (esp. since I look kinda like he does), but it was past time to move on. The time for JRPGs is over. It is time for poni.

        But your new icon – wow. I don’t know whether you found that or modified it yourself, but it is glorious indeed~! Prithee, tell of its origin.

      • One word: Ponychan. I’d love to make pony pics and videos of my own, but my best software is paint and Live Movie Maker, so I have to count on other people to come up with great ideas. I’m not sure who created the Assassin Dash picture, but I couldn’t pass it up.

  2. Dad

    I am greatly looking forward to having you home in Grant Twp. (not Constantinople) for my birthday weekend!!! Yippee!!!! (Can you tell I’ve missed you just a bit?) 😀

Leave a Reply

