Palo Duro


Today, the Men’s Choir arrived early in Amarillo, TX, so we drove a few miles out of our way and spent twenty minutes in Palo Duro Canyon.  I can’t do the scenery justice with descriptions, so I asked my friend Jack if I could upload a few of the great pictures that he took.  He kindly obliged, so here for your viewing enjoyment are some pictures of the gorgeous Palo Duro Canyon.

A wide shot of the canyon from the drive down

Another sweeping view from the top of the canyon

A great view of the different layers of rock and dirt along the edge of the canyon

 

A closeup of the strata in the canyon wall

 

A look up at the canyon walls from the floor

This shot gives a good perspective of the depth and variety of the canyon's scenery

Jack, the photographer, with the canyon in the background

A few of the Tenor 2's relaxing in the canyon floor

Exploring the Southern United States, even in such short glimpses, has been an absolute treat.  The locals insist that the scenery is flat and uninteresting, but coming from Michigan, where you can’t look twenty feet without seeing a bunch of trees, I think it’s fantastic.  Hopefully I can come back and spend more time taking it in someday, but for now the tour must go on, so we’re heading to Albuquerque tomorrow for the next concert.  I hear there will be mountains, so I’m pumped.  What can I say?  I’m easily impressed.

3 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

3 responses to “Palo Duro

  1. Mom

    Thanks for sharing about each day of your tour! It’s the next best thing to being there with you!! Love you! 🙂

  2. Dad

    The first time I visited Mexico my first impression of the desert was that it was barren, but by the time I left to come home, it’s unique beauty had won an enduring spot in my heart. There is an immenseness to God’s created beauty, an untameable wild effusiveness of variegated splendor which takes my breath away even as it expands my concept of beauty and my capacity to enjoy it, and the limitless God who is Beauty.

  3. Hey! I like trees! Geez.

Leave a Reply

