Confessions of a Recording Artist


I am now officially a recording artist.  I spent most of today at College Church recording with the Moody Men’s Collegiate Choir, and by the time the evening was over we’d finished eight or nine different tracks.  That’s right, folks, I’ve been in the studio, I know what it’s like on the inside.  To be honest, it’s not that thrilling.  It turns out that we mostly just stood on a stage and sang all of the songs we sing in rehearsals and at concerts, except we had two disembodied voices saying things like “We’re rolling” through the speakers and our conductor said “Take One” or “Take Two” or “Take Nineteen” before we started singing each time and there were a lot of microphones.  Still, the room sounded fantastic, all echoing and majestic, and we sang some of my favorite songs, and I traded the banana in my box dinner for a Golden Delicious, so all in all it was a great day.  Plus, that’s another item off the bucket list.  Become an official recording artist, check.  Next up: embark on a tour as a recording artist that covers at least four states.  Spring Break, here I come!

2 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

2 responses to “Confessions of a Recording Artist

  1. Dad

    And here I was thinking that in order to have a “bucket list” you had to be over twenty years old… 😉 It is an interesting experience the first time you record something in a studio, isn’t it? You wonder “Where will this recording I’m making end up?” and “Who will listen to it?” and similar questions. I still think it’s pretty cool each time Pastor Pepe and I get to record a new program. Have fun on your tour, we will be praying for you and missing you!

    • Recording is definitely an interesting experience. I’m curious how much of what we did will be on the next CD (and when that CD will be released). I’m very excited for tour, and it’s always encouraging to know that you’re praying for me. I miss you, too!

Leave a Reply

