Song of the Week: “Rediscover You” by Starfield


Today was a day of prayer on the Moody campus.  We gathered in the morning for two hours of corporate prayer, then the regularly scheduled 11:00 classes met and devoted the entire hour to praying together, and after lunch bro-sis floors came together in different locations around the school to worship together.  The change in atmosphere was palpable as we all stepped away from our normal daily routines and focused completely and heavily on God, and I noticed something as soon as the first morning session began.  I was uncomfortable.  I was fidgety, unfocused, and I felt like a fake if I tried to sing and pray like everyone else.  Somehow, in the most spiritually charged environment I’ve encountered in a long time, I felt out of place.  At that moment I realized a harsh truth, one I didn’t want to admit but simply couldn’t ignore.  Despite studying the Bible at a Bible institute, my passion for God is weaker than it’s been in years.  I’ve thrown all of my energy and devotion into other things, easing my conscience by making little efforts to make my relationship with God a higher priority.  Today He reminded me that He doesn’t want to be a higher priority.  He doesn’t want to be number one on my list of top ten passions, He wants to be my only passion.  He wants to pervade every area of my life and bring it under His dominion.  And, faced with my selfishness in blinding contrast against His unrestrained love and absolute worthiness, I realized that by stealing the focus of my life for myself, I was running headlong toward meaninglessness, and that the only life worth living is one lived for the glory of my Creator.  I made this song, “Rediscover You” by Starfield, my prayer, asking God to take away the things that steal my love away from Him and help me regain my passion for the Lover of my soul.

I need to just admit
My faith is paper thin
I’m feeling so burned out on religion
I say an empty prayer
I sing a tired song
I need to just admit
That the passion’s gone
And I want to get it back

You told me
Look for you, and I will find
So I’m here
Like I’m searching for the first time
Revive me, Jesus
Make this cold heart start to move
Help me rediscover You

I want to learn to pray
The way that David prayed
I want my soul to burn
When I hear Your name
I want to feel like new
I want to hunger for You
Bring me back to life like only You can do
‘Cause I don’t want to stay the same

CHORUS

Lord, I want to be Yours today
I want to know the passion of the saints
And how they were changed

I want to burn for You
Bring me back to life
Jesus, help me rediscover You

4 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

4 responses to “Song of the Week: “Rediscover You” by Starfield

  1. Tim, one of the things I discovered when I was at Eastern University, formerly Eastern Baptist College, was that when you are in a Christian environment surrounded by traditions and theology… it is really easy to get swept off in the logistics of faith, which is the point (in my opinion) where faith digresses to, simply, faithless or “weak-faithed” religion. I especially struggled with my journey when I was taking several Bible classes at a time because if I really wanted to, I could call my homework my quiet time and get away with not spending personal time with God. …. That didn’t work out so well with me. I accidentally destroyed some really good habits I had until that point. If I may encourage you? (This is where I don’t wait for a response.) Don’t be disheartened. Trek on. Be intentional about spending time with God daily… don’t be afraid to pray that you would mean the words you sing and pray. Goodness knows that if I am left to my own devices, I just go through the motions. Good thing God is gracious and patient, eh? =]

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement, Danike. Your comment really sums up where I am and where I’d like to be, and it’s always wonderful to be reminded that God will keep working with me until we get there. He really has promised that if we look for Him, we’ll find Him, and His promises are always true. I just have to keep listening to, believing in, and looking for Him in my life.

  2. Dad

    The older I get, the more I realize that I’m not all that different from the Israelites. When I was younger I just could not believe how stupid they were to chase idols when the Living and True God was daily in their midst, leading them, protecting them and providing for them. I knew that I could not possibly be that stupid! Now that I have a few more years under my belt, I realize that I am definitely that stupid: I have the Holy Spirit living in me, not just in the tabernacle next door, and my heart has been every bit as idolatrous as any ancient Israelite! Only when we realize that there is nothing that we can do in our own strength to please God (or keep ourselves close to Him) will we begin to appreciate our true need of Him and begin to learn to trust in His precious promises that in our younger, more self-confident days seemed like nice platitudes: “I will never leave you or forsake you.” “He that began a good work in you will bring it to completion in the Day of Christ Jesus.” “Lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” The truth is that, even on our best days, we are incompetent, incapable and untrustworthy, but God on the other hand is Faithful and True. Thanks for sharing your heart, son. Te amo.

Leave a Reply

