Connection


I still miss people.  They tell me I can always be connected with my friends and family because I can go online and see a string of words that they typed in a box on their screen several hours ago, but I don’t feel connected so much as cheated, like someone offered me a scenic safari and then drove me through the Sahara at eighty miles an hour.  I don’t want to read that my little brother is having a bad day, I don’t want to type my condolences in emotionless black letters.  I want to see his face and know without words that he’s hurting, I want to put my arm around him and listen to him tell me why.  I don’t want to read that my friends are listening to their favorite music, I want to hear the notes and feel the beat and dance with them.  I don’t want to be connected by a cord and a screen, I want to be with the people I love the most, to taste and smell and see and feel life alongside them.  I don’t want to miss people, but I’m glad that I do, because it shows that we truly are connected with bonds deeper than sound bites and comments.  We feel the strain when we’re apart because we’re meant to be together, and nothing can stop that aching, but it’s comforting to know that no matter how much life pulls us in different directions, the connection between two souls is one that will never break.

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

