Song of the Week: These Things Take Time by Sanctus Real


When it comes to picking a song of the week, there are about three possible scenarios.  Some weeks, I can’t choose one because I draw a blank and the only songs I can call to mind are all of the previous songs of the week and the theme song from Corner Gas.  Other weeks, I have difficulty picking a song because every song that I’ve ever loved from the age of eight until today is stuck in my head vying for my attention.  Then there are weeks like this one, where I’ve had the song on my mind for days just waiting for Wednesday to arrive so it can take its rightful place as song of the week.  I like those weeks.

 

This week’s song is “These Things Take Time”, from the album Pieces of a Real Heart by Sanctus Real.

I love this song because it addresses the human hunger for answers in a confusing world, and it offers the most honest answer of all: we can’t always know.  The lyrics emphasize a patient trust that as we move closer to heaven and to our Savior the truth will grow clearer.  It’s a hard lesson to learn, but there is great peace in acknowledging that there are things that only God knows.  Enjoy the song, and don’t forget to leave your suggestions for future songs of the week in the comments below.

Lyrics:

I want to know why pain makes me stronger
I want to know why good men die
Why am I so afraid of the dark
But I stray from the light?

I want to know why You gave me eyes
When faith is how I see
And tell me is it easier to doubt
Or harder to believe?

Oh, there’s so many questions stirring in me

Chorus:
And I’m wondering why
Sometimes the truth ain’t easy to find
I want to know all the answers
But I’m learning that
These things take time
These things take time

How can success make us feel like failures?
And the harder we fall the harder we try
The more I have the more I need
Just to feel like I’m getting by

Oh, there’s so many questions and one short life

CHORUS

EPIC GUITAR

And we spend so much time
Chasing our tails, hoping to find
Every last answer to everything in life
So many questions, not enough time

But I’m still wondering why
Sometimes the truth ain’t easy to find
I want to know all the answers
But I’m learning that
These things take time
These things take time

We all want to understand why
Evil wins and good men die
On the way to heaven the truth unwinds
These things take time
These things take time

Cover art from album-cover-art.org

1 Comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

One response to “Song of the Week: These Things Take Time by Sanctus Real

  1. Dad

    How about another classic artist for Song of the Week, like Keith Green, for instance?

Leave a Reply

