Song of the Week: “Creed” by Rich Mullins


I was sitting in Christianity and Western Cultures I this morning when the professor walked in and announced that we were going to start the class by reading the Apostle’s Creed together.  As we went over the powerful words of this fundamental document from church history, I couldn’t help but think of this wonderful song by Rich Mullins.  So, this week, I’m taking the Song of the Week feature on a trip to the past – recent and ancient – with Rich Mullins’ excellent musical rendition of the Apostle’s Creed.  Rich Mullins is one of the greatest Christian musicians from the recent past, and the combination of his music with the Creed is both enjoyable and challenging.  Why do you believe what you believe, and what difference does it make in the way you live your life?

Here’s the link: “Creed”

Here are the lyrics:

I believe in God the Father Almighty
Maker of Heaven and Maker of Earth
And in Jesus Christ His only begotten Son our Lord
He was conceived by the Holy Spirit
Born of the virgin Mary
Suffered under Pontius Pilate
He was crucified and dead and buried

And I believe what I believe is what makes me who I am
I did not make it, no it is making me
It is the very truth of God and not the invention of any man

I believe that He who suffered was crucified buried and dead
He descended into hell and on the third day rose again
He ascended into Heaven where He sits at God’s mighty right hand
I believe that He’s returning
To judge the quick and the dead of the sons of men

I believe it I believe it
I believe it
I believe it I believe it

I believe in God the Father
Almighty Maker of Heaven and Maker of Earth
And in Jesus Christ His only begotten Son our Lord
I believe in the Holy Spirit
One Holy Church
The communion of Saints
The forgiveness of sin
I believe in the resurrection
I believe in a life that never ends

And don’t forget to leave a comment below with your suggestions for song of the week.  Have a great day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

