Song of the Week: “Temporary Home” by Carrie Underwood


I never thought I’d post a Carrie Underwood song of the week in a million years of Wednesdays, but when my roommate, Daniel Schubert, introduced me to this song I couldn’t refuse.  “Temporary Home” is beautiful in every possible way with a stirring tune, captivating and thoughtful lyrics, and Carrie Underwood’s expert vocal talent each doing more than their part.  This is easily the most God-glorifying, edifying secular song I’ve ever heard, and I encourage you to listen closely and reflect on the lyrics.  I could preach a series of sermons on this topic, but Carrie says  it so much better than I can, so I’ll just leave you with some questions to consider.  What gives you hope even in the most hopeless situations?  Where do you find your identity?  Are you living in the reality that this is our temporary home?

Philippians 3:20-21 But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.

Here’s the link: “Temporary Home”

And here are the lyrics:

Little boy, 6 years old
A little too used to bein’ alone.
Another new mom and dad,another school,
Another house that’ll never be home.
When people ask him how he likes this place…
He looks up and says, with a smile upon his face,

“This is my temporary home
It’s not where I belong.
Windows and rooms that I’m passin’ through.
This is just a stop, on the way to where I’m going.
I’m not afraid because I know this is my
Temporary Home.”

Young mom on her own.
She needs a little help, got nowhere to go.
She’s lookin’ for a job, lookin’ for a way out,
Because a half-way house will never be a home.
At night she whispers to her baby girl,
“Someday we’ll find our place here in this world.”

“This is our temporary home.
It’s not where we belong.
Windows and rooms that we’re passin’ through.
This is just a stop, on the way to where we’re going.
I’m not afraid because I know this is our
Temporary Home.”

Old man, hospital bed,
The room is filled with people he loves.
And he whispers don’t cry for me,
I’ll see you all someday.
He looks up and says, “I can see God’s face.”

“This is my temporary Home
It’s not where I belong.
Windows and rooms that I’m passin’ through.
This was just a stop,on the way to where I’m going.
I’m not afraid because I know… this was
My temporary home.”

This is our temporary home.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

6 responses to “Song of the Week: “Temporary Home” by Carrie Underwood

  1. IdolofCarrie

    Carrie is a Born Again Christian who loves Jesus and has told the world at the 2010 ACM’s after singing this very song while accepting her Triple Crown Award. Search youtube and see. Plus she also sang Jesus Take the Wheel. A song Sara Evans could of sang, but thought the lyrics we’re stupid. Pray that Carrie will come out with a Gospel cd someday soon.

    • That’s awesome, I didn’t know that she is a Christian. When I said “secular” though, to be clear, I wasn’t trying to accuse Carrie of anything. I was simply making a generalization about the song based on the fact that Carrie is classified first and foremost as a country artist, not a Christian singer. Sorry if I offended you.

  2. IdolofCarrie

    Not offended at all haha! True she does sing country. So yes in a way you are right. She also sang How Great Thou Art at the Opry. Beautiful! Search youtube for that one as well. 🙂

  3. IdolofCarrie

    By the way in case you don’t know, she got this song from a Bible study with her husband, Mike Fisher on the book Purpose Driven Life, chapter 6.

    • Wow, I did not think it was possible for me to gain this much respect and admiration for someone in less than 12 hours. This morning I didn’t really care to listen to Carrie Underwood because I’m not a country music fan (hence the first line of the post), but now… I may have to look up more of her music. That is really inspiring that someone so squarely in the public eye is so visibly and adamantly in love with Christ!

  4. stacey

    Carrie performs the medley with Jesus Take the Wheel and How Great Thou Art every night on her tour but one on the most memorable was her performance at the Hollywood Bowl. There are better videos of this performance but this one is the only one that captures the medley in it’s entirety.

Leave a Reply

