Song of the Week: “Absolutely” by Starfield


This past weekend I attended the Crossroads Fall Retreat with the college group at Moody Church.  We drove up to beautiful Gull Lake, MI and spent two days focusing on worship and intimacy with God.  We sang this song during one of our worship sessions, and I was enthralled by the beauty of this lovestruck declaration of a heart intoxicated with God.  As I listened to it again, however, I was also profoundly challenged.  All throughout last weekend and this week’s Missions Conference here at Moody Bible Institute God has weighed down my soul with the realization of how little I truly show Him love.  When I stopped and stepped back from the normal routine business of my life I was sickened by how untrue these lyrics are of me.  I look like someone absolutely in love alright, but someone absolutely in love with himself.  Every breath that I breathe is dedicated to my success, my amusement, my wellbeing.  It seems that I have me completely, and it’s clear that I don’t know what to do with myself.  Fortunately, God’s rebukes always contain a solid core of hope, and the hope that God holds out to all of us who have fallen into self-love is summed up in one word: surrender, the true heart of worship.  Is there someone else who has your heart?  Give it back to Him tonight.  Turn your thoughts off of yourself and let His soul-consuming love envelop you, fall absolutely in love with Him.

He’s already absolutely in love with you.

Lyrics to “Absolutely” by Starfield:

Lover of my soul
I want to tell you
Only you have all of me
I cannot contain my adoration
I’m in love so desperately

No one is as lovely as you are
There is no one else who has my heart

Jesus you have me completely
Every breath I breathe
I am absolutely in love
Jesus I am yours forever
All of me surrenders
I am absolutely in love with you

Down upon my knees
I’m lost in worship
Humbled by your majesty
What is there to say
But how I love you
Thank you for forgiving me

No one is as lovely as you are
There is no one else who has my heart

Jesus you have me completely
Every breath that I breathe
I am absolutely in love
Jesus I am yours forever
All of me surrenders
I am absolutely in love with you

All I am is yours (all I am is yours)
Only yours

Jesus you have me completely
Every breath that I breathe
I am absolutely in love
Jesus I am yours forever
All of me surrenders
I am absolutely in love
Jesus you have me completely
Every breath that I breathe
I am absolutely in love with you
In love with you

2 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

2 responses to “Song of the Week: “Absolutely” by Starfield

  1. Mom

    Wow, Tim, what a beautiful song and a challenge as well. I love reading your blog posts because they let me see what’s happening between the lines in your life, and they challenge me to look more closely at my own. It was good to have you home last weekend. Love you lots!

Leave a Reply

