Song of the Week: “Life in Technicolor ii” by Coldplay


Ever since I finished with the media fast on Saturday (tomorrow’s post will cover how that went, I promise) I’ve had this song stuck in my head.  The opening instrumental is bouncier than Tigger and as catchy as swine flu, but the symptoms of “Life in Technicolor ii” are much less debilitating.  These may include compulsive humming, sudden and irresistible urges to hit “repeat” on Grooveshark (and complete inability to turn it off once you’ve done so), and random bursts of head-bobbing (or in extreme cases dancing) in public.  Once the lyrics come into play, the song just gets better.  I find myself constantly in awe of Chris Martin’s vocal ability, and the message he sings is one of joy and freedom and wonder that you can’t help but sing along to.  Click the link below, but do so at your own risk – this song is contagious.

Here’s the link: “Life in Technicolor ii”

And here are the lyrics:

Verse 1

There’s a wild wind blowing

Down the corner of my street

Every night there the headlights are glowing

There’s a cold war coming

On the radio I heard

Baby, it’s a violent world

Chorus

Oh, love, don’t let me go

Take me where the streetlights glow

I could hear it coming

I could hear the sirens sound

Now my feet won’t touch the ground

Verse 2

Time came a-creepin’

Oh, and time’s a loaded gun

Every road is a ray of light

It goes on, time only can lead you on

Still, it’s such a beautiful night

Chorus

Oh, love, don’t let me go

Won’t you take me where the streetlights glow

I could hear it coming

Like a serenade of sound

Now my feet won’t touch the ground

Gravity release me

And don’t ever hold me down

Now my feet won’t touch the ground

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

