Song of the Week: Beautiful Words by The Afters


About a year ago, when I first started songs of the week, I had wanted to use this song and couldn’t find it.  Now, here it is, one of my favorite songs in the world!  I love the way The Afters use a writing metaphor to explain the wonder of the future: undiscovered, exciting, beautiful.  A story, slowly unfolding.  How often do we slow down and take in the wonder of the stories that are our lives, intertwining, all a part of God’s awesome plan.   Hope you enjoy it!

Here’s the link: “Beautiful Words”

And here are the lyrics:

Slow down
This is such a blur
Tell me what’s the hurry now
Have we been running round in circles
Missing all that we could be
You say it’s not too late

[Chorus:]
We are words
On pages that we’ve left unturned
An ending no one’s ever heard
We are a story slowly unfolding
Beautiful words

I could walk across the ocean
With you walking next to me
And you could melt away this winter
Now we’re starting over
We will see it’s not too late

[Chorus]

Beautiful words that last when everything else has passed
Even when all the stars are gone
I know every single beautiful word that we were will live on…

I know it’s not too late…

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

