Adding to the Noise


As I stood back and looked at these past few months of my life, I couldn’t help but think of a song by Switchfoot, “Adding to the Noise”. Here’s the first verse:
“What’s it going to take to slow us down?
To let the silence spin us around?
What’s it going to take to drop this town?
We’ve been spinning at the speed of sound.
Stepping out of those convenience stores,
What could we want but more, more, more?
From the third world to the corporate core
We are the symphony of modern humanity.”
I saw these words embodied in the way that I live. Go, go, go! Do, do, do! Listen, watch, experience! But what has spinning at the speed of sound ever given us but a headache and a serious case of nausea? What is it going to take to make us slow down, be quiet, step back and realize that we are burning ourselves out? Could it be that all of these noises that seem so pressing and vital are really just distractions, keeping us from the things we need and love? Roadblocks holding us back from our full potential? Switchfoot’s chorus makes a plea that resounds with my own heart:
“If we’re adding to the noise… turn off this song.”
That’s exactly what I intend to do. Turn off the songs, the video games, the movies and television shows and websites that are adding to the noise and make time for what really matters. Make spending time in God’s Word and in prayer a priority again instead of letting the distractions and entertainment pull me away. Stop procrastinating and start cultivating my talents and abilities. Starting this Wednesday, I’m going to take everything that’s adding to the noise… and turn it off. TV, computer, MP3 player, video games, shut down for one whole week. And I’m inviting you to come with me. If you’ve been feeling worn out or tired, step back and refresh. Take Jesus up on his offer: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” If you want to quiet yourself this week, leave a comment on this post so that we can pray for and encourage each other. May this first week of April really open our eyes to how much noise floods our lives every day – and how refreshing it can be to turn it all off and hear God’s small still voice more clearly than ever before.

3 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

3 responses to “Adding to the Noise

  1. Katie

    This is an awesome idea, and personally, i don’t think your timing could be better. i’m not at school those days, my church is having a prayer vigil thursday through sunday morning, my church is encouraging fasting along with part of the prayer vigil, and it ties in well with what i’m reading in the book “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan. He isn’t talking about fasting, but more meeting with God because of love and not obligation or guilt and somehow im making connections there… definitely joining you in this =]

    Also, what switchfoot album is that song on?

    • That’s really cool how God worked the timing out! I just started reading “Crazy Love”, too, and I plan to spend more time in it this week. What chapter are you on? I was considering setting aside a few hours on Good Friday for a retreat of silence. Would you be interested in that?
      Also, “Adding to the Noise” is on “The Beautiful Letdown”, easily Switchfoot’s second best album next to “Hello, Hurricane”. 😀

  2. Katie McIntyre

    I am going to do that too! Starting today!

Leave a Reply

