Now to Him Who Is Able…


Wednesday, March 24, 2010.  Certainly NOT a day I was looking forward to.  When I woke up, I expected it to be a super-hectic and frustrating day.  After all, I had PLANNED on being home all morning, then going to Kids Hope USA in the afternoon, and coming back home to finish writing curriculum for youth group from 2:00-5:00, when we would have quiz practice and youth group.  Then, last night, I found out that I had been volunteered to go to my Grandma’s house at 11:30 to rake the yard, and if I wanted to go to quiz practice I was going to have to stay in Kent City from 2:00 to 5:00 because no one could give me a ride.  Great, I thought, so much for my plans.  But God reminded me that when he flips our plans on their head it always turns out better than we expected.  After I woke up, I finished reading “Cure for the Common Life” by Max Lucado.  Interestingly enough, one of the last chapters was about humility and doing things that we don’t want to do for the sake of others.  The chore of helping Grandma rake out her front yard became an opportunity to put into practice what I had just read this morning.  Talk about humbling!  Then, there was Kids Hope USA.  A couple of weeks ago, I arrived at the school to discover that Seth, my friend I had mentored for nearly two years, had moved to White Cloud the day before.  At first, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to try again.  I missed Seth, and I didn’t want deal with any more emotional stress than necessary.  But I knew that to him who knows the good he ought to do and does not do it, it is sin.  So, at 1:00 P.M., I met my new student: Mason.  At first, he was quiet and shy.  But so smart!  We got through his homework quickly, then began a game of “Sorry”.  It was so much fun to see him warming up to me.  By the time the fire alarm sounded (just a drill, fortunately) I could tell that we were going to be good friends.  Whereas before I was unsure about mentoring again, now I know God is going to use me in Mason’s life (and Mason in mine).  At last, I moved into the basement of the church to write curriculum.  What had at first seemed an annoying kink in the plan became a fun little adventure.  I got the peace and quiet I hadn’t even realized I desperately needed, a nice walk, and a chance to spend quality time in the word.  God is so good, and today is just another example of how what I see as setbacks are his way of bringing me into the fun, exciting, challenging, strectching, more-than-I-had-asked-or-imagined plan that he has for my life!

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

