Grace Isn’t Fair


“…. The beauty of grace is that it makes life not fair.”

When I first heard those words, listening to “Be My Escape” by Relient K, it made me stop and think.  How often do we complain that life isn’t fair without thinking about what a fair life would really look like?  If everything was perfectly fair, exactly to the letter of the law, you and I would still be captives to the whims of our sin nature.  We would have no way out, and no hope for escaping an eternity in hell.  Our lives would be completely empty… and we would deserve it.  Isn’t God’s grace absolutely astounding?  Life’s not fair!  Instead of mumbling it under our breaths, why don’t we shout it from the rooftops?  I’m not getting what I deserve… I’m getting so much more!  God’s love for me outweighs everything I’ve done and makes me His son!  I am free from sin, I have a purpose!  Praise God that grace is completely, totally, beautifully unfair!

1 Comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

One response to “Grace Isn’t Fair

  1. Rae

    Hi there,

    I’ve noticed you writing things on the NaNo forums and thought I’d come check out your blog since you had a Bible verse in your signature. Now that I’ve read through quite a bit of your posts and the information you wrote about yourself, I’m pleased I stopped by.

    You have a rather fascinating perspective on quite a few things. I enjoyed reading your passionate posts, and I look forward to reading others. I’m also a Christian, saved by a grace that looks like madness to everyone else. Thanks for putting up this post; it’s very encouraging to me.

    In any event, I’ll be back to see what other things you write about. Good luck in whatever you pursue, whether it be editing a novel or running headlong after the One whose grace makes mere human affection so much affectation.

    -Rae Reneau

Leave a Reply

