Two Hands


I’ve had a song by Jars of Clay on my mind for a while now, and I wanted to share it with you.  It’s called “Two Hands”, and the first verse and chorus go like this:

“I am living out of sanity, I’ve been splitting hairs and blurring lines.  I’m a house that is divided in my heart and in my mind.  I use one hand to pull you closer, the other to push you away… If I had two hands doing the same thing: lifted high, lifted high.”

How often have I used one hand to pull God closer, the other to push him away?  How often do I just pay God lip service?  Or even though I have  a real desire to serve Him, I just don’t want to surrender everything?  He’s been convicting me in this area, revealing that He is more than worthy of the trust I’ve been holding back.  If I had two hands doing the same thing, lifting His name, living for His glory, not only would my own life be better, but He would use me to change the world.  What are you doing with your hands?  Are they both doing the same thing?  It’s never too late to lift them in humility and surrender and ask God to use your two, simple hands to do His extraordinary work.

1 Comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

One response to “Two Hands

  1. kaitalinda

    I have heard this song on the radio and always loved it… thank you very much for the thought provoking observations you have made concerning it. I have never really thought about it deeply. Now, I am inclined to go listen to the whole thing very closely.

    I should be doing more of God’s work with my hands. I am now going to begin concentrating on pulling God closer with BOTH hands, and lifting Him and everything of or about Him up for all to see.

    ~Kaitland

Leave a Reply

