Welcome to December!


It’s hard to believe that it’s December already!  As November flew on at its crazy pace, it was often hard for me to find time to post on my blog… or to find new material (Day 1: Writing… Day 16: Still Writing… Day 24: Guess What I’m Doing?).  But now that December is here, I wanted to post a short list of things from last month that I am thankful for… and things this month that I am looking forward to!

I Am Thankful That In November:

1. I was able to participate in NaNoWriMo.  I know, I know, that’s all I talked about all month, but it was a very rewarding, enriching experience.  And surprisingly enough, I still have a personal life in the aftermath!

2. My Uncle Brian was able to join my family for Thanksgiving.  He’s a really fun guy, and it’s a real blessing that he gets to come see us as often as he does.

3. I got a Logos Bible Study Library Software kit.  What a cool way to study the Bible!  So many great tools right at your fingertips… And it was at a charity auction for Pine Ridge Bible Camp, so my money went to a good cause!

4. That our family got a Wii (and Wii Fit game to go with it).  Our family has been working on being more active and healthy, and now we have a game to help us enjoy it!  I lost 5 pounds in eight days, and it wasn’t even really that hard.

5. November was just such a great month overall!  So many blessings, it’s hard to count them, but I thank God for each and every one!

In December, I’m looking forward to:

1. Christmas!  What else could possibly top a list of December anticipations?  Last night at Youth Group, Jared Winell mentioned how our society is so caught up in action and drama and suspense that the Christmas story (and the Bible in general) seem boring to us.  But there are so many amazing, exciting, intense things that happened that first Christmas it would blow us away if we really took the time to examine it closely.  That’s what I want to do this Christmas…

2. Our church’s Good News Cafe play production.  This year, it’s a very serious, even intense production that deals with themes of abortion and forgiveness in the story of a prodigal daughter.  Please pray that God would use this for His glory!

3. The New Year’s Eve weekend.  I’m not sure whether I’ll be going to a party or The Break at Lake Ann Camp, but either way I know that it’ll be fun.  It always is…

4. Christmas Break.  There are all sorts of fun things you can do with that kind of free time.

5. Editing my NaNo novel.  Because it needs it pretty badly.

6. 2010.  Yeah, I know, this one is technically one minute after December ends, but I can’t deny that I’m looking forward to the New Year.  What sort of great surprises will it bring?

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

