NaNoWriMo Day 28: 50,000!


I can’t believe it!  After 28 days of writing and thinking and writing some more, I’ve won the National Novel Writing Month challenge!  50,000 words in 30 days may sound scary, but it was actually really fun!  Thanks for everyone who encouraged me, especially my family for keeping me on track!  “A Day in the Live(s) of Whitaker Riley” is ready for editing, and I am excited to see what this rough draft will grow into in the months to come.  And to my fellow WriMos: If you’ve finished, congratulations!  Celebrate!  Good work!  If not: You can do it!  Keep going!  And even if you don’t finish, what you’ve done is extraordinary, and you have the beginnings of something great before you.  Don’t give up!  Here’s to NaNo of 2010… may it be just as great!

Winner Icon

4 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

4 responses to “NaNoWriMo Day 28: 50,000!

  1. Kay Morris

    Congratulations, Timothy!!! I finished, too, on the Young Writer’s Program. My book (Anissa’s Journal: The Journey Begins) isn’t done yet, though, I’ll be going (way) over my word count goal (10,000).

    So, when all is said and done, what will you do with your novel? Do you think you will have it published?

    ~Kaitland C

  2. Kay Morris

    Oh the same here! I have had the dream to have a book published for years. My dad promised years ago that if I would be determined enough to write a book, he’d be willing to help me get it published.

    Here I am, say, 5 years later with the same dream, but with it inching closer and closer. And, yeah, editing is needed!!! I have a thread over on the Rebelution just for finding an editor. I have two, actually. One for story plot and one for the technical things.

    Anyway, I was rather fascinated by your excerpt!!! If you are ever interested in reading mine, you can just head over to that thread and see it there. It’s titled Editors needed for NaNoWriMo writers. Or something like that. I forgot exactly.

    Just curious, if you did your story in Word, how many pages did 50,000 or so words equal? I’m at 21 with 11,000+ so wouldn’t that be like, 105 or something?

    ~Kaitland C

    • Yeah, I don’t remember exactly how many pages it is, but it’s somewhere around 110-120 or so. I hope you’re able to get your book finished, edited, published and loved by all! I’ll have to run by the Rebelution Forum and check out the excerpt…

Leave a Reply

