NaNoWriMo – Day 5 – Motivation, Please?


I don’t know what it is, but something about today is just plain lazy.  Maybe it’s the grey skies.  Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been writing for five days straight.  Maybe it’s because I spent half of my writing time describing a library.  Whatever it is, today is rather dull.  But even in the midst of this day 5 slump, it’s important to remember: nothing worth doing is easy, but everything worth doing is worth doing well.  This is something that is worth doing, so I need to keep at it even when my emotions about it bottom out, even when my fingers are tired and my brain wants to quit.  Perseverance is an important lesson to learn, so I encourage all of my fellow WriMos (and anyone else struggling with a commitment today) to stick it out!  Remember what Paul said (loosely quoted, of course):  suffering produces perseverance, perseverance produces character, character produces hope, and hope does not disappoint us.  Just wait and see… it may be grey today, but the sun will come out soon!

3 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

3 responses to “NaNoWriMo – Day 5 – Motivation, Please?

  1. Timothy,

    Keep going! I know it is hard, but it is worth it. I have been struggling (I have a hard time writing from a girl’s perspective, and in a city, and in meal settings, and that is what the last 7000 words or so are). Well, I just wanted to encourage you to persevere! Remember that it does not have to even be good writing, just writing. 🙂

    • Thanks, Jay! It’s hard to remind myself of that, sometimes. We can fix it up when we’re done, but for now we just need to get it down on paper… (wince) no matter how horrible it is. 😀 Thanks again for the encouragement! Hope your writing goes well!

Leave a Reply

