November: The Month of Incredible Commitments


I’m looking forward to this month of November.  In just a matter of days, it went from being just “next month” to “the month of incredible commitments”.  It started when a friend introduced me to NaNoWriMo, the 50,000 word novel in a month challenge.  It sounded kind of scary, but I love to write, I had an idea that I couldn’t stop thinking about, and the thought of writing an entire novel in a month was irresistible.  So I signed up.  Then, as I sat down last night to study for my Sunday school class, I realized that I hadn’t spent personal time in the word since the previous Saturday.  I realized that this lapse in my personal walk with God was affecting my ability to fight sin and live a holy life, so I made another commitment: this month, I’m going to spend time in the word and prayer every day.  I prayed about it, thought about it, and the more I did so, the more excited I was about it.  Lastly, I joined our church’s Bible Quiz Bowl team, something I haven’t done in over a year.

Today, the first day of November, I received so much encouragement and joy for the month ahead!  Before, I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to make my quota of 1,667 words on a busy day like Sunday.  But when I sat down to write, the words just flowed, and before I knew it I had over 1,800 words, exactly three pages of text on my screen.  Then, at church, Pastor Chris preached a message about how Jesus took our humanity and our punishment for sin, and set us free from sin.  He reminded us that Jesus withstood more temptation than we could ever imagine, because He never gave in.  He endured past the point at which we give up, and so He knows the temptations we experience and then some, and He wants to help us to endure, too.  I felt so joyful when I thought about my Older Brother’s love for me, and I knew that He was reminding me that He is by my side to help me be more like Him this month.  Then there’s quiz.  The first text we are studying is Ephesians 3-4.  I read these beautiful pictures of God’s love for His children several times a day, committing them to memory, and it is such a blessing!  It’s only one day old, and already this month is my favorite of the year!  I can’t wait to see what tomorrow holds…

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

