Far Too Easily Pleased


I read this quote by C. S. Lewis one week ago today, on a small group study sheet at my youth group.  The truth of it is so simple yet so powerful that it can change your entire perspective on life and how you live it. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered to us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.” I know for myself that this is far too accurate.  It is so easy for me to become distracted by the worthless things of this world, selfishly seeking after whatever I think would please me when God offers me infinite joy!  I had to take a hard look at my life and admit that I am far too easily pleased, amused by filthy, worthless imitations of God’s glorious plan for my life.  My pastor, Chris Weeks, spoke a couple of weeks ago about the idea of Shalom.  It’s the Hebrew word for peace, but it is far deeper than that simple definition.  The idea is that everything is exactly as it should be, a pervasive peace and contentment that transcends all of our circumstances because we know that all is well.  That is what God offers us in the sacrifice of His Son.  Shalom.  Are you settling for less?  Are you far too easily pleased?  Come wash off the mud of the slums in the gentle waves of the sea as you experience the unimaginable joy that God has in store for those who will follow him.

Leave a comment

Filed under Older-Type Posts

Leave a Reply

