Proverbs 24:30-34


Ah, Proverbs.  Easily one of the most practical, down-to-business books of the Bible.  As I’ve read through it this spring and summer, the passages about diligence have especially grabbed my attention, and this one is no exception.  Take a look:

“I went past the field of a sluggard, past the vineyard of the man who lacks judgment.  Thorns had come up everywhere, the ground was covered with weeds, and the stone wall was in ruins.  I applied my heart to what I observed and learned a lesson from what I saw:  A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest – and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man.”

Several things jumped out at me that you and I can apply to literally every area of our lives, including writing:

1.  Laziness Breaks Down What We Have Built Up!  You can plow the field, plant the seeds, and build the wall, but if you then leave it to its natural course, it will all come to ruins.

2. It Only Takes A Little Laziness To Do A Lot Of Damage!  That’s right, the most emphasized word in this passage is “little”.  Solomon wants to be sure that we get this idea: a little laziness goes a long way!  Poverty and scarcity don’t rest, and when we do they get straight to work.

3. Application Is The Key!  It doesn’t matter if we get it, it matters that we do it!  We need to stand up and refuse to be the lazy, demanding teenagers that society expects us to be!  Let’s be diligent, contributing members of society, people who are willing to work for their pay and for the betterment of themselves and others!  Let’s live out the lesson of Proverbs 24:30-34!

2 Comments

Filed under Older-Type Posts

2 responses to “Proverbs 24:30-34

  1. Timothy,

    This is exactly what I needed, thank you for spurring me on to continue doing my Hard Things! As soon as I start to slack things start to fall apart. And as you said, a little bit of slacking means a lot of falling apart. Ok, time to stop commenting and back to work! Haha… just kidding.

    With joy and peace in Christ,
    Jay Lauser

    • I’m glad that you found this encouraging, Emeth! This is a concept with which I myself am still struggling, but the Bible puts it so clearly. We just need to remember, the seeds we plant now will become a harvest later. Plant seeds of diligence and righteousness and a God-blessed future will arise!
      Let’s rise up instead of falling apart!
      Reuel Dreamseer

Leave a Reply

